Pork-chops & videos- random hey?!

It feels good to be back after February break and be writing a blog post! It’s even better that I am continuing on my ed. tech. journey while enhancing my cooking skills. You may be wondering why my title is so random- well I will be telling you about cooking pork-chops and showing videos so there you have it! Feel free to give me feedback on anything!

Watch below for an introduction to what I prepared in the kitchen today. I am trying to incorporate more videos into my posts sharing things with you!

Today was definitely my biggest challenge in the kitchen so far. I chose to step out of my comfort zone a little bit and prepare something that was a little more challenging to get right. Today’s task was to prepare pork-chops and scalloped potatoes! To view the recipe click here. I retrieved this recipe from The Midnight Baker. I encourage you to check out their site! This recipe drew my attention because you could put everything together in one pan to bake- again less dishes!

Now I am going to take you through what I did to prepare and cook the pork-chops and scalloped potatoes because at times it may have been a little bit different than what the recipe asked.

Step 1: Cut up vegetables. I chopped the potatoes and onions into thin slices to go on the bottom of the pans, underneath the pork-chops.

20170228_092819

Step 2: Watch the video below to see what I did next after cutting up the vegetables. The one thing I forgot to mention in the video is to cook the dish for 1 hour at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

What is said in the video:

  • Season potatoes and onions with salt, pepper, seasoning salt, garlic salt, paprika, and chili powder. Then mix together.
  • Add potato mixture to pans.
  • Brown pork-chops separately in frying pan on stove.
  • When pork-chops are done browning put them on top of potatoes in pan.
  • Pour sauce (mushroom soup and milk) over pork-chops and potatoes and then bake in oven.

I hope the video above helped in understanding what I did! I want to provide more “how to” videos seeing as some prefer that over just text and pictures.

Below is the finished product and us “digging in” to our meals.

20170228_122458

20170228_122453

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stay tuned this week to see some reviews on the tech. tools and resources I have been using so far for my learning project!

 

I want to end off with 2 questions for you for now:

What video editing tools do you use?

What strategies do you use to choose blog post titles? (I think my titles could use some help)

6 thoughts on “Pork-chops & videos- random hey?!

  1. I love your attempt in providing the readers with both text and videos to follow. I think this is something that I should keep in mind when talking about my learning project; sometimes videos are better than words. Unfortunately I do not have any suggestions for video editing. When it comes to naming your blog posts, one thing I tend to do is write my post before providing a name. This allows for me to keep in mind what was mentioned in my post and then usually enables me to come up with a unique and eye catching (I hope) title that captures my post as a whole. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. Michelle, Once again, your cooking looks quite delicious. To answer your first question, I have only edited one video (Sunest at the Beach Painting and Video on my blog) and I used iMovie. I liked the program and will most likely use it again since I now know how to use it! As for creating titles, I am always inspired by those who have creative titles. I try to use creative titles, but not sure how well I do (I think there is room for improvement). I usually write my entire post first and then read through it and try to find something that really captured my attention. I use that idea to then create a title for my blog! I hope that helped a little bit!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Learning Project Wrap Up! | Miss Hordos

  4. Pingback: Contributing to Learning – Shae Kowaniuk

Leave a Reply

