What’s cooking in Michelle’s kitchen today?!

Hi all!

So, what was cooking in my kitchen today?

20170214_120845

The final product!

BEEF STIR FRY!

For my learning project this week I embarked on making beef stir fry with rice. It took me a while to find a beef stir fry recipe I liked and one that I had all of the ingredients for. I found a recipe on a food blog this week called Natasha’s Kitchen. I strongly suggest you check this blog out. There are tons of recipes that you can search for or find by category. It is a user friendly site that I found to be super helpful!

Now I will show you some of the steps I went through today to prepare my beef stir fry!

NOTE: I had the skillet set to about 250 (medium heat) for most of the time.

First of all I cut up the beef steak I was using into longer, thin strips and then added it to the skillet with 1 tbsp of oil.

20170214_090527

Once the meat was partially cooked I added the garlic and spices it called for. In addition I also added paprika and chili powder. I let that sit for about 10 minutes and then added about half of the sauce I was to prepare.

20170214_112400

After adding the spices and sauce I waited for about 20 minutes and then added the vegetables (mushrooms, onions, celery, peppers, carrots). You can choose whichever vegetables you like and put them in. The recipe told me to cook the vegetables separate but I just added them to the skillet with the meat and cooked them together. This approach worked out well and less dishes!

20170214_112419

 

Once the vegetables were mostly cooked I added the rest of the sauce and let that cook for about 20 minutes before I changed the setting to warm until lunch. Below is a picture of the stir fry ready to be served with rice.

20170214_112457

Overall, the process of making stir fry was not too bad! The recipe I found was fairly simple to follow- I made a few adjustments to it but thankfully it turned out anyway! I think this was my strongest dish yet and the feedback I got from family was great! For the full recipe and instructions click here.  Hope you try it, it was really good.

Lastly I want to share with you the kitchen tool I used this week- an electric skillet. This is a great tool because it is essentially a frying pan that plugs in. It has different heat settings, will cook food for a long time without you having to check it often, and you can get a fairly big size. I found this tool very easy to use to make stir fry in because everything could be cooked well in the same place! I strongly suggest you look into buying one of these! Canadian Tire has great deals on them sometimes! Just check out their website or go there.

One last thing- I have now added a few recipes to my Cliptomize cookbook. Check it out here!

5 thoughts on “What’s cooking in Michelle’s kitchen today?!

  1. This looks DELICIOUS! (So much better than my frozen from-the-bag stirfy mix I buy). I have also never seen an electric frying pan before, so thanks for sharing that! It looks like a tool I may need to add to my kitchen!

    Like

  2. Looks great Michelle! Smart to just add the veggies straight to the meat, I’m always looking for ways to use less dishes! I also love my electric skillet, I use it all the time for cooking sausage. It’s also good for making pancakes for a crowd!

    Like

  3. Thank-you all for your feedback! You should definitely get an electric skillet. They are very efficient in the kitchen. Also, creating the cookbook is easy and I never thought of giving it as a gift before so thanks!
    Michelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

