My Take on Shrimp Fajitas & Fries

At the beginning of my learning project I had stated that I am not only trying to learn how to cook more foods and use different tools in the kitchen, but am also trying to cook healthy. Today I made  shrimp fajitas and oven baked crispy french fries.  Yes, when first reading this it does not sound healthy, however, the shrimp was baked in the oven with vegetables to fill the tortillas and the fries were oven baked with minimal oil. It may not be your healthiest meal but it is a step in the right direction if you are trying to eat healthy, but still enjoy food.

This week I mainly used Pinterest and YouTube as resources for my learning project. Using Pinterest was easy for me because I found and followed a recipe on there last week that turned out. I strongly suggest using Pinterest as a resource because it is super easy to find things and save for later. YouTube on the other hand was a new resource and experience for me because I am used to learning by reading and then understanding. When using the YouTube video I had to re-watch it a few times to get out all of the main elements I would need to follow for the recipe. I know, it sounds silly but I learn by reading, not watching videos! I find this interesting because most people I talk to say they can learn better from watching videos. Anyway, below is the video I followed to make the oven baked crispy french fries.

I followed the directions in the video very closely and the potatoes turned out… score! YouTube as a resource for my learning project, on the other hand, I am not so sure about yet. I think I enjoy going on blogs, Pinterest, and other mainly text sites that offer recipes and tips for cooking. On a complete aside, this is interesting to note as an educator because I need to remember I have students that learn through text and visuals, as well as other mediums.

I realize I am getting sidetracked. Below is a short video showing the steps I completed to prepare the shrimp fajita filling to go in the oven. I forgot to mention in the video that I chose to cook it on low so it would take longer (30 minutes). In the recipe it suggests it will be ready in 10 minutes. I had my fries cooking at the same time so I didn’t want the shrimp to be done earlier. After the filling was finished in the oven I simply filled a tortilla and added whatever sauce I wanted. They turned out delicious! For the full recipe and cooking instructions go here. Pinterest took me to this site (No. 2 Pencil) where it gave the full information for the recipe.

This video was not easy for me. I have never even attempted to record myself to teach others before, let alone record it and try upload it to an online blog!! This video is an amazing feat for myself! Learning this process of recording and uploading has been a valuable experience in itself, let alone the things I have been learning about cooking. If any of you are wondering how I created this video and uploaded it I simply recorded it through my webcam and then uploaded it to my YouTube channel. On there it turned it into a YouTube video and then I was able to share it easily in this post by copying the link on its own line! For those of you worried about others online seeing your video on YouTube, don’t worry- there is a private setting on there so only you can see it! Please have a look and give me feedback or tips on how I did on the video! I am proud to say I figured this all out myself.

I want to finish this post off with sharing some of the things I have learned thus far from engaging in this learning project:

1) I have learned to be more confident in myself and my cooking abilities. My dishes have turned out great so far.

2) I have added simple dishes that are delicious to my cooking toolbox.

3) I can use technology to my advantage! I have thoroughly enjoyed the engagement I have had with technology so far and I have been learning so much (like making and uploading a video). Thank-you ECMP 355!!

 

Thanks for reading- stay tuned for more on my learning project soon!

2 thoughts on “My Take on Shrimp Fajitas & Fries

  1. Hey Michelle, I love the sounds of this meal. I think this is something I may want to try! On another note, I cannot view your video. It tells me that it is private. I am not sure if there is an extra setting that can change that (maybe it is because your youtube channel is private)? Great job in attempting the video though; this aspect scares me. I should try and break out of my shell and give it a go.

    Like

  2. Shae,
    Thanks for letting me know that my video did not work. Turns out you cannot keep the video private- thanks for letting me know this by checking to see if it worked after I changed it to public! 🙂
    Hope your learning project is going well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

